Basketball Long Beach Poly Millikan Wilson

Basketball: Millikan Clinches First Title Since 1991


Millikan defeated Lakewood on Tuesday night to clinch a share of its first Moore League boys’ basketball title since 1991. The Rams will host a hungry Long Beach Poly team Thursday night with the Jackrabbits looking to force a co-championship with a win.

Poly def. Wilson

Peyton Watson scored 20 points and the Long Beach Poly boys basketball team kept its Moore League title hope alive with a 82-56 win over Wilson on Tuesday night.

It was a big win for the Jackrabbits (14-12, 8-2) who needed to win after dropping games to Compton and Lakewood last week.

“It was a good win for us,” Watson said. “It was a confidence booster and hopefully we can continue that on Thursday.”

With Jackson Barnhill sitting out for the Bruins due to illness(12-14, 2-8), Poly was able to take advantage of their size advantage throughout the night.

“I thought Poly came out a little flat themselves to start the game,” Wilson coach James Boykin said. “Not just because they didn’t start their main starters, but I think that contributed to it and they didn’t really get going until the latter part of the second quarter.”

In the second quarter, Gabe Cummings and Watson scored 12 points combined to give Poly a 39-26 lead at halftime.

The hot scoring continued in the third quarter as Christian Watson scored 10 of his 14 points to put the game away for the Jackrabbits.

For the Bruins, Dallas Cooper was the leading scorer for the team with 11 points.

On Thursday, Poly will take on Millikan with Moore League title implications. If Poly wins they will clinch a share of the league title, while a loss will give Millikan the title outright.

VIDEO: Long Beach Poly vs Wilson Basketball

Mike Guardabascio
An LBC native, Mike Guardabascio has been covering Long Beach sports professionally for 13 years, with his work published in dozens of Southern California magazines and newspapers. He's won numerous awards for his writing as well as the CIF Southern Section’s Champion For Character Award, and is the author of three books about Long Beach history.