Lacrosse Wilson

Lacrosse Preview: Wilson Bruins

There are three divisions for this year’s CIF-SS playoffs, and all the Long Beach teams are in Division 3 except the Wilson boys, who are in Division 2.

Wilson coach Glenn Styron is like many of this year’s trailblazing lacrosse coaches: he’s an evangelist of the sport. The founder of the Long Beach State Lacrosse Club and a longtime figure with Beach Cities Youth Lacrosse, Styron has been working towards this season for three years.

“We’re looking to capitalize on some senior players’ skills and leadership,” he said.

Styron, who’s assisted by veterans Sal Cipolla and Ian Wilmott, is excited to see his team score a lot in transition, led by Dylan Barne.

Senior include goalie John Legaspye, attackman Charles Littleworth, and midfielders Noah McLaughlin and Julien Houdre.

Styron expects Aaron Konet, Ethan McMahon, and Brock Cruz to add depth to the midfield, while defenders Sebastian Alcaraz, Theo Rogan, Thomas Ellis, and Nate Calder shore up the back.

The Wilson girls will be coached this year by Natali McCaslin, who’s currently a player herself as a senior on the Long Beach State club lacrosse team.

McCaslin didn’t mince words when asked for her team’s goals.

“We want to make history and be the first team to win the CIF championship,” she said. “It’s going to be a fun and eventful year.”

Like most coaches, McCaslin said it was personally fulfilling to be part of creating a new era for Moore League sports.

“I’m very determined to build the lacrosse program as the sport grows here, and I’m also excited for the girls to be able to showcase their athletic ability in a sport that I hold dear to my heart,” she said.

The top players for the Bruins are Sophia Brownell, Kristin Berry, Grace Littleworth and Aunna McMahon. McCaslin said freshman goalie Makenzie Stanton has already picked up the team’s defense.


Mike Guardabascio
An LBC native, Mike Guardabascio has been covering Long Beach sports professionally for 13 years, with his work published in dozens of Southern California magazines and newspapers. He's won numerous awards for his writing as well as the CIF Southern Section’s Champion For Character Award, and is the author of three books about Long Beach history.