Lakewood Millikan Wrestling

Millikan Wrestling Wins Moore League Title Again

A dominant 57-13 win at Lakewood on Thursday night clinched Millikan wrestling its eighth consecutive Moore League team title. The Rams won five league meets by a large margin, and is finishing the regular season on a high note despite not having their full lineup available.

“We had some freshman in the lineup tonight because of injuries,” Millikan coach Marshall Thompson said. “Lakewood is also very young. I saw a lot of potential tonight, and I can see them getting better, so we’re going to have to work hard if we want to keep winning. I think next years match is going to be a lot closer.”


Millikan wrestlers Diego Laverde, Trevor Thompson, Alan Patino, Robert Pallares, Kydyn Lima, Jacob Zavala, Johnnie Grover and Nathan Munoz all won via pin. Lakewood junior Ralph Sanchez (126lbs) won an impressive 9-1 decision to cut into the early Millikan lead 12-10, but the Rams won all but one of the remaining matches.


Lakewood is hosting the CIF Southern Section team competition on Jan. 26, and Wilson is hosting the league finals on Jan. 31. The Millikan girls won the league title as well, and will compete in the league finals at Poly on Jan. 26.

JJ Fiddler
JJ Fiddler is an award-winning sportswriter and videographer who has been covering Southern California sports for multiple newspapers and websites since 2004. After attending Long Beach State and creating the first full sports page at the Union Weekly Newspaper, he has been exclusively covering Long Beach prep sports since 2007.