Millikan Signing Day

Millikan Recognizes Athletes Moving To Next Level

Usually the Spring season includes a time-honored tradition at Millikan: the spaghetti dinner fundraiser that also honors the schools athletes moving on to play at the next level, both as scholarship athletes at four-year colleges and at the junior collegiate level.

This year, the campus shutdowns have made that ceremony impossible, but the Rams’ athletic directors have still been posting content on the school’s social media honoring the school’s graduating seniors who will be playing at the next level.

“We want to make it as special as we can,” said girls’ athletic director Lorene Morgan. “We’re proud of everything they did here.”

The Rams held a ceremony on campus earlier this year honoring 10 athletes who signed scholarships.

This year’s Rams honorees are: Allison Doppenberg (wrestling, York College), Isabella MacLean-Cariello (swim, Idaho), Katelyn Watkins (water polo/swim, Azusa Pacifica), Jenna Sonnenberg (diving, Purdue), Kyle Paulson (volleyball, USC), CJ Yogi (baseball, CSUN), Jarod Giacon (baseball, Cal State San Marcos), Jasper Loverude (cross country, Colby College), Anissa Ramos (softball, Newman University), Olivia Ramiriz (softball, LBCC), Ethan Petita (football, Pittsburgh State), Aaron Okoro (football, Briar Cliff), Anthony Scott-Brayboy (football, Briar Cliff), Jager Rafkin (football, La Verne), Nathon Martinez (football, Whittier), Enda Tovar (lacrosse, UCLA), Mason Igawa (soccer, Rochester Institute of Technology), Walker Buck (soccer, Virginia Military Institute), Mina Barajas (volleyball, Humboldt State), Molly Gold (rowing, Cal), Samantha Sierra (soccer, University of Portland), Gabby Arredondo (soccer, Hope International), Ashley Davis (soccer, Arcadia University), and Lesley Garcia (basketball, Cerritos College).


Mike Guardabascio
An LBC native, Mike Guardabascio has been covering Long Beach sports professionally for 13 years, with his work published in dozens of Southern California magazines and newspapers. He's won numerous awards for his writing as well as the CIF Southern Section’s Champion For Character Award, and is the author of three books about Long Beach history.