Long Beach Poly Wilson

Swimming: Wilson Boys, Poly Girls Win At Moore League Dual Meet

California’s longest league championship streak appears to be safe. The Wilson boys’ swimming team topped Long Beach Poly at last week’s dual meet by a margin of 98-72 in front of a packed crowd in Wilson’s Pete Archer Aquatics Center. The Bruins have won every Moore League boys’ swim title since 1973, a run of 45 titles that is unmatched.

“It was a real team win,” said Eric Berg, Wilson’s boys’ swimming coach. “Classic Wilson/Poly rivalry.”

CLICK HERE for our photo gallery from the meet taken by Tracey Roman.

Last year the Bruins lost their dual meet battle with the Jackrabbits, which was the first time since 1972 they’d dropped a league dual meet. On an emotional night at Cabrillo, Wilson rebounded at league finals to take the advantage and the league championship.

Wilson was buoyed by Max Berg’s wins in the 100 and 200 freestyle, as well as Jake Zuanich’s individual medley win and a big win in the 500 free from Mazen Abouelela. Poly was led by Casey Laid, who had wins in the butterfly and backstroke, and Chris Correa, who won the 50 free.

The Poly girls won by a margin of 118-62, with Anja Oca taking home individual wins in the butterfly and backstroke, an Josie Liebzeit winning the 200 and 500 free. Kate Cassiano won the individual medley and the breaststroke; that quartet was also a part of two relay wins.

Poly girls coach Kalani Caldwell also noted that Poly’s girls’ JV won for the first time ever against the Bruins.

The Jackrabbits won the last two league championships and are looking to three-peat for the first time in school history in the sport.

Cabrillo will once again host the Moore League finals, with the girls slated to start at 5 p.m. on Thursday, May 3rdand the boys starting at the same time on Friday.

Mike Guardabascio
An LBC native, Mike Guardabascio has been covering Long Beach sports professionally for 13 years, with his work published in dozens of Southern California magazines and newspapers. He's won numerous awards for his writing as well as the CIF Southern Section’s Champion For Character Award, and is the author of three books about Long Beach history.