Basketball Cabrillo Compton Jordan Lakewood Long Beach City College Long Beach Poly Long Beach State Millikan Podcast Soccer St. Anthony Wilson

PODCAST: Offseason Reset With Basketball Coach Allen Caveness

This week we’re sitting down with St. Anthony boys’ basketball coach Allen Caveness for our Offseason Reset interview. 05:30 Offseason Reset Interview: St. Anthony Boys’ Basketball Coach Allen Caveness 23:00 Athletes Of The Week 24:00 How Did Cabrillo Boys’ Soccer Bounce Back To Win CIF State? 26:40 Long Beach Poly Girls’ Basketball & Deja Williams […]

Cabrillo Column Soccer

COLUMN: Cabrillo Boys’ Soccer Bounce Back Is One For The Ages

Sports, at its very core, is about getting knocked down and getting back up again. But I might have a new standard for a resilient comeback thanks to a group of soccer players on the Westside. If a Disney princess is the patron saint of underdogs, then Cabrillo boys’ soccer carries the banner for bounce-back […]

Avalon Cabrillo Lakewood Long Beach Poly Millikan St. Anthony Volleyball Wilson

Long Beach High School Boys’ Volleyball Preview

It’s been a wild stretch for high school boys’ volleyball in Long Beach, with St. Anthony establishing itself as a small division power that’s producing some big talent, and the Moore League in flux. Lakewood, Wilson, and Poly have all won the league championship in the last three years, and the 2019 crown is truly […]

Aquatic Cabrillo Jordan Lakewood Long Beach Poly Millikan Swimming Wilson

Long Beach Boys’ Swimming Preview: Wilson Trying To Extend Record Streak

The state’s longest league championship streak will be on the line again this year, as Wilson tries to win a 47th consecutive Moore League title. The Bruins are led once again by a coach steeped in the tradition of the school’s storied aquatics program, Eric Berg. “We were lucky that the top seniors that graduated […]

Aquatic Cabrillo Jordan Lakewood Long Beach Poly Millikan Swimming Wilson

Long Beach Girls’ Swimming Preview: Poly Trying To Make History

The Long Beach Poly girls’ swim team is trying to make history this year as they try to win a fourth consecutive Moore League championship. If they succeed, they’d be the first school other than Wilson to four-peat in the Moore League. Longtime coach Kalani Caldwell said there’s advantages and disadvantages to being the hunted, […]